Who has been elected as Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha?

in progress 0
Hena Gupta 2 years 2019-06-21T08:53:35+00:00 1 Answer 157 views Advanced 0

Answer ( 1 )


    Om Birla

    NDA nominee Om Birla from Kota has been unanimously elected as the Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha. All major political parties including Congress, DMK, TMC, BJD, YSR Congress, JD(U) and Shiv Sena supported the motion moved by Prime Minister and Leader of the House, Narendra Modi to choose Mr.Birla as the Speaker. Later, Pro-tem speaker Dr. Virendra Kumar declared Mr. Birla as the Speaker. Prime minister along with other leaders of different political parties escorted Om Birla to the Speaker’s chair. An agriculturalist and social worker, Om Birla, started his political journey as a student leader. Later, he elected as MLA for three consecutive terms for Rajasthan Assembly in 2003, 2008 and 2013. He won his first Lok Sabha election in 2014 and was again elected from Rajasthan’s Kota Lok Sabha seat in 2019.

Leave an answer